Preface

These proceedings contain the contributed papers for the First Workshop on Narrative Extraction from Text (Text2Story2018) held in conjunction with the ECIR 2018 conference in Grenoble, France, on the 26th of March 2018. Four full papers and two short papers were selected by the programme committee from a total of 11 submissions. Each submitted paper was reviewed by at least four members of an international programme committee. In addition to the selected papers, the workshop features two invited speakers. Udo Kruschwitz's keynote is "Users2Story - On the Importance of Understanding Searchers' Information Needs". Eric Gaussier addresses "Word embeddings, information retrieval and textual entailment". We would like to thank ECIR for hosting us, our keynote speakers, the programme committee, the paper authors, and the participants, who have made this workshop possible.

Editors

Alípio M. Jorge (INESC TEC; University of Porto, Portugal) Ricardo Campos (INESC TEC; Polytechnic Institute of Tomar, Tomar, Portugal) Adam Jatowt (Kyoto University, Japan) Sérgio Nunes (INESC TEC; University of Porto, Portugal)

Proceedings Chair

Conceição Rocha (LIAAD INESC TEC) João Paulo Cordeiro (INESC TEC; University of Beira Interior)

Programme Committee

Klaus Berberich (Max Planck Institute for Informatics)
Marc Spaniol (Normandie University)
Miguel Martinez-Alvarez (Signal)
Dhruv Gupta (Max Planck Institute for Informatics)
Federico Nanni (University of Mannheim)
Yihong Zhang (Kyoto University)
Udo Kruschwitz (University of Essex)

Conceição Rocha (LIAAD INESC TEC)

João Paulo Cordeiro (University of Beira Interior)

Grace Hui Yang (Georgetown University)

Gerasimos Lampouras (The University of Sheffield)

Denilson Barbosa (University of Alberta)

Sumit Bhatia (IBM)

Yating Zhang (Kyoto University)

Nina Tahmasebi (University of Gothenburg)

Jaime Arguello (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)

Akiko Aizawa (NII)

António Horta Branco (University of Lisbon)

Bruno Martins (University of Lisbon)

Gael Dias (University of Caen)

Henrique Lopes Cardoso (University of Porto)

Pablo Gamallo (University of Santiago de Compostela)

Fernando Batista (INESC-ID & ISCTE-IUL)

Álvaro Figueira (INESC TEC & University of Porto)

Nuno Moniz (INESC TEC)

Paulo Quaresma (University of Evora)

Sebastião Pais (University of Beira Interior)

Pedro Saleiro (University of Chicago)

Web Chair

Arian Pasquali

Dissemination Chair

Vitor Mangaravite









